NOAA/NASA Satellite Meteorology Summer Workshop

Workshop Group Photo

Between July 8th and 19th 2019, I had the amazing opportunity to participate in the first Satellite Meteorology Summer Workshop hosted at CIRA (Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere) in Fort Collins, Colorado (USA). Besides the unique experience of being in a beautiful Colorado city (twice as high as São Paulo), I had access to a huge amount of knowledge related to satellite meteorology, from radiation principles to satellite data assimilation.

The radiation principles classes were more than just a recap, with the usage of a software called HYDRA (not related to Marvel Universe 😅). You can not only open most types of satellite imagery, but analyze them in a simple yet powerful interface. I really had fun (and a tough time trying to interpret the results).

Satellite constelations and products occupied a good portion of the workshop, with full days of GOES, JPSS, NASA missions and EUMETSAT! The applications are infinite, just as the channels in a hyperspectral sensor 😵, but the most interesting for me were the VIIRS Day/Night band applications, with a great presentation by Steve Miller.

In a field trip to Boulder, I knew some great people behind COMET (and got a friendly reminder that I need to keep translating the materials) and Unidata with their amazing softwares! I left there really inspired to learn (and teach) new tools.

My favourite part of all this experience was to meet people from different countries with all kinds of backgrounds and a common goal: use satellite meteorology in their research. After these two weeks, at least for me, this goal will definitely be fulfilled.


All the workshop materials are available in the CIRA website.

Related